HomeSports2022 World Cup starts today: All that you need to know

2022 World Cup starts today: All that you need to know

2022 World Cup starts today: All that you need to know
2022 World Cup starts today: All that you need to know

Everything you need to know about the 22nd World Cup, from the venues to the teams to the prize money, is right here.

Thirty-two teams will compete in Qatar in 2022 for the chance to write their names in the record books at the FIFA World Cup, including seven of the previous eight winners (Uruguay, Italy, Germany, Brazil, England, Argentina, France, and Spain).

Qatar 2022: If Ghana doesn’t qualify to the next stage, I’ll shave my hair on live TV – Agyemang

It has been 20 years since Korea and Japan hosted a tournament together, and this will be the first to take place in an Arabian country. This is a comprehensive guide to the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022.

When does the FIFA World Cup 2022 begin and end?

The one-month event will begin in Qatar on Sunday, November 20, and conclude with the final on Sunday, December 18.

The opening ceremony is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. local time, ahead of the first match between hosts Qatar and Ecuador, which begins at 7 p.m. local time.

 Which stadiums will host the World Cup in Qatar?

A total of eight stadiums are being used for the entirety of the event:

  • Lusail Stadium (80,000-seater) in Lusail
  • Al-Bayt Stadium (60,000-seater) in Al Khor
  • Khalifa International Stadium (45,416-seater) in Al Rayyan
  • Education City Stadium (45,350-seater) in Al Rayyan
  • Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium (44,740-seater) in Al Rayyan
  • Al Janoub Stadium (40,000-seater) in Al Wakrah
  • Al Thumama Stadium (40,000-seater) in Doha
  • Stadium 974 (40,000-seater) in Doha

How many teams are playing in Qatar?

32 teams are competing at the FIFA World Cup in Qatar. All teams will take part in the group stage which consists of eight groups of four.

The 32 teams are grouped as follows:

  • GROUP A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • GROUP B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
  • GROUP C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • GROUP D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
  • GROUP E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
  • GROUP F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • GROUP G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • GROUP H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

Group winners will play group runners-up in the round of 16, and so on through the remaining rounds of the tournament.

Teams who win in the round of 16, quarterfinals, and semis will advance to the final round of the tournament, where the victor will be proclaimed world champions.

What happens in case two teams are tied in a World Cup group?

The ranking of teams in the group stage is determined as follows:

  1. Points obtained in all group matches
  2. Goal difference in all group matches
  3. Number of goals scored in all group matches
  4. Points obtained in the matches played between the teams in question
  5. Goal difference in the matches played between the teams in question
  6. Number of goals scored in the matches played between the teams in question
  7. Fair play points in all group matches (only one deduction can be applied to a player in a single match):
  • Yellow card: −1 point
  • Indirect red card (second yellow card): −3 points
  • Direct red card: −4 points
  • Yellow card and direct red card: −5 points
  1. Drawing of lots.

What is the prize money for the Qatar World Cup in 2022?

The winner of the 2022 FIFA World Cup will receive $42 million, an increase from France’s $38 million prize for winning in 2018.

The teams competing in the FIFA World Cup in Qatar stand to gain significantly financially as well as the prestige of hoisting football’s most coveted trophy.

If your team finishes second, third, or fourth, you will receive $30, $27, or $25 million, respectively.

The four quarterfinalist teams will each receive $17 million, with the 16th-place team receiving $13 million.

Every club that fails to advance past the first round of the tournament will receive $9 million.

Who is the Qatar World Cup mascot?
La’eeb is the official mascot of the Qatar World Cup. The adventurous, fun, and curious La’eeb was unveiled on April 1 during the Qatar 2022 Final Draw in Doha, following a tradition started in England in 1966.

What is the official match ball for the Qatar World Cup?

The “Al Rihla” match ball was introduced as the official ball of the 2022 World Cup on March 30, 2022. The Arabic name Al Rihla, derived from the Qatari flag, culture, and most recognizable boats, means “the journey.”

Prince the Blogger
Writer | Content Creator | Video Editor | Blogger | Vlogger | Digital Music Distributor | Music Publisher Contact me if you need a Digital Platforms account ( ie. BoomPlay, Spotify, Audiomack, etc) +23355 933 8218


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular